Skip to main content

2013 International Alliance for Women in Music Annual Concert will play Dr. Ming-Hsiu Yen’s composition “Lego City”

  • Date:2013-10-08

On Saturday, October 11th at 8 p.m., Ensemble Mise-En will present a free concert in partnership with the International Alliance for Women in Music (IAWM) at University Settlement in New York City. The program includes several premieres for chamber orchestra and large ensemble. And Taiwanese Composer Dr. Ming-Hsiu Yen’s work “Lego City” will be performed. This collective concert at University Settlement will give a voice to five different female composers and a big help for their careers. The IAWM concert will consist of chamber music pieces by Ming-Hsiu Yen (Taiwan), Lina Järnegard (Sweden) and Jane O’Leary (Ireland), as well as by Yuko Ohara (Japan/England) and Santa Buss (Latvia). All composers will attend the concert and ready to give a talk back along with the musicians. Audience are welcome to the reception after the talk back.


Dr. Ming-Hsiu Yen is an internationally-acclaimed composer and pianist. Having received awards including 22nd Asian Composers League Yoshiro Irino Memorial Prize, Heckscher Composition Prize, and many others, Dr. Yen’s works have been performed by many orchestras including the Minnesota Orchestra, Taiwan Philharmonic, and others and have been frequently presented in music festivals, including the 2013 International Alliance for Women in Music Annual Concert, Bass2012 Copenhagen, and 2011 Asian Composers League Conference, etc. Dr. Yen holds a degree from the University of Michigan and from the Eastman School of Music. She is currently the assistant professor at the Department of Composition and Theory at the Taipei National University of the Arts in Taiwan.


The inspiration of “Lego City” came from Dr. Yen’s first impression on the urban scenery in Hong Kong. Standing by the Hong Kong Cultural Centre looking at the skyscrapers of Hong Kong, Dr. Yen had the delusion that she was just a Lego figure. Similar to stacking up Lego bricks to build a city, the composition consists of different melodic and rhythmic figures and all the figures are interlocked together. The composition also aims to portrait the fast-paced, energetic, exciting life in Hong Kong.


IAWM is an international organization that hosts competitions, conferences, and concerts for female composers. This year, IAWM received 127 submissions reviewed by 65 composers from 14 different countries. Ensemble Mise-En is thrilled to have the opportunity to present the diverse and well-rounded program featuring the works of talented female composers with varied backgrounds.


Founded in 2011, Ensemble Mise-En, led by composer Moon Young HA, has become one of New York’s most innovative and versatile contemporary music collectives. With over fifteen of the city’s most talented young musicians, Ensemble Mise-En’s multi-national members strive to bring audiences a multi-cultural, provoking, and pleasant experience.




University Settlement

184 Eldridge Street, New York, NY 10002


Free admission. Audience will be admitted on a first-come first-serve basis. However, if you would like to secure a seat in advance, Ensemble Mise-En is offering a $10 reservation service.


For more information, please call 217.721.8936 or